Powered by KU Information Technology

Notifications

Notifications are sent when you are mentioned in a post, messages are posted in the Posts tab or Chat, and other activities, such as membership changes, seeing when someone is on or offline, meeting notifications, etc.

How you receive notifications
  • Your feed notifications will show on the Activity icon at the top-left corner and on the desktop app. [see screenshot] If you don't have the desktop app in your toolbar, you can download it from Teams. [see screenshot]
  • If banner notification is selected, rectangle will slide out from the right side of your screen letting for a few moments, then will disappear.
  • Email notifications will happen only when you are not logged in to Teams.
Manage notification preferences

You can change email, banner, and feed preferences from these areas. 

Notifications from Settings

  1. Click on your profile image > Settings > Notifications.
  2. Click on the dropdown menus to set the types of notifications you want. 
  • This the only place to manage email notifications.

Conversation notifications

  1. Hover over the top-right corner of a conversation
  2. Click More options […]
  3. Select Turn off notifications

Channel notifications

  1. Hover over the channel name
  2. Click More options […]
  3. Choose Channel notifications
Mention a person, channel or team

When posting in a channel, use the "@" symbol followed by the name of a person, channel, or the name of the team. This will send a notification to that person or team based on their preferences. [see screenshot]

Hide/show channels

By default, all channels and teams are visible, allowing you to receive notifications for teams and channels that you haven’t hidden from your list. You can choose Show or Hide to ensure you get notifications from teams and channels you care about.

  1. Hover over channel or team, then click on More options [...] on the right.  
  2. Click on Hide channel/team. [see screenshot]

Your hidden channels and teams will be condensed in your list, but will remain available if you want to bring them back at a later time. Once you hide a channel or team, you will no longer receive notifications for them until you bring them back. 

To bring the channel back:

  1. Hover over Hidden channel and click on the arrow > to the right of your channel. 
  2. Click on Show next to the team/channel you want to bring back. [see screenshot]

 


Link to KU IT's YouTube  Powered by KU IT 

Training Workshops

KU faculty, staff and students can sign up for courses at no cost at workshops.ku.edu.

Share your feedback

Would you like to see added or updated content on this site? Let us know by completing this quick form.