Powered by KU Information Technology

Site Management

Click on the topics below to expand or collapse the information as needed.

Manage Permissions

Permissions determine the level of access people have for the site. Before adding users to the site, you will need to decide their permission group and if you want them to be added to the Office 365 group or SharePoint groups.

The Office 365 group gives everyone access to everything on the site. Adding external users (outside of KU) to the Office 365 group gives them access to everything except Conversations and the Outlook Calendar. if you plan to break permissions on any part of the site, use the SharePoint permission groups instead. 

There are three primary SharePoint permission groups in every site:

  • Site visitors - read-only access to the site, cannot make edits
  • Site members - can edit and create content on the site
  • Site owners - full control of the site

These permission groups also give access to everything on the site until the permission is broken. A site owner can decide to break permissions if a site, or content within a site, needs more restrictive access. 

How to add members to your site

To add users to the Office 365 group:

  1. Click members located at the top-right are of the page. [see screenshot]
  2. Click Add members button. 
  3. For KU members, enter their name or email. 
  4. For external members, click the go to Outlook link and add members from there. [see screenshot]
  5. Click Add members from the top menu or Manage group members below the current members to add or remove. [see screenshot]

To add users SharePoint groups

  1. Click the Settings icon and select Site permissions. [see screenshot] 
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the panel and select Advance permission settings. [see screenshot] 
  3. Click on a permission group and add users.  [see screenshot]
How to assign specific permissions

It is possible to assign permissions to a subsite or an app that does not apply to the entire site. To do this, you must first break inheritance of permissions, then assign permissions to that app. The example below will be for a list, but it is the same process for a site or other apps.  

How to break permissions: 

  1. Navigate to the app and clickthe Settings icon at the top-right.  
  2. Click List settings. [see screenshot
  3. Select Permissions for this list under Permissions and Management. [see screenshot
  4. Click Stop Inheriting Permissions. [see screenshot
  5. Use Grant User Permissions and Remove User Permissions to customize the access to the page or app. [see screenshot

Create a new subsite

The initial site will be created by KU Information Technology from an existing site template. From there, the site owner can modify the site and create multiple subsites.  

  1. Sign in to office365.ku.edu and go to the initial team site.
  2. Click the settings icon and select Site contents from the list. [see screenshot]
  3. At the top-right menu, click +New and select Subsite. [see screenshot]
  4. Enter the Title, Description and URL for the new site. [see screenshot]
  5. Select Team Site (no Office 365 group) for the template.
  6. Set up permissions as needed. 
  7. Click Create.

 

Manage Navigation

The navigation for the team site is the links on the left side called Quick Launch. Any pages or apps that are added to the team site can be added to the Quick Launch area.

To edit the Quick Launch:

  1. Click the Edit link at the bottom of Quick Launch.
  2. To add a link, hover your mouse between links to bring up the + button. [see screenshot]
  3. To edit the menu, click on the More options [...] icon next to a link. [see screenshot]
  4. To change the order, use Move up or down tools or click and drag link to a new position.
  5. Click Save.

Manage Access Requests

If a user clicks on something they do not have access to, they are able to request access to that content. Site owners will receive an email for any access request submitted and also have the option to turn off access requests on the site.

How to turn on/off access requests:

  1. Click the Settings icon and select Site permissions. [see screenshot]
  2. Scroll down and click on Change sharing settings. [see screenshot]
  3. Choose who can share information from the site, disable access request, and who will receive notification of the access requests. [see screenshot]
  4. Click Save.

How to approve or decline access requests:

  1. Click the Settings icon > Site Contents.
  2. Click Access requests and invitations.
Note: The Access request button only appears if there are pending access requests.
  1. Under Pending Requests, find the request you want to update, click More options [...] to open the menu.
  2. Under Permissions, select the permission level you would like to assign the user if you plan to approve the request. You can optionally type a message to the person requesting access; this can be a useful way to document your decision. 
  3. Click Approve or Decline.

Change Title and Look of Your Site

The title, description, URL*, logo, and theme of a site can be changed at any time by a site owner. Changing the look can help users differentiate a site from the other sites they may use.

*At this time, the URL can only be changed on a subsite, not the site collection. 

How to change the look of a site:

  1. Click the Settings icon and select Change the look. [see screenshot]
  2. Choose from Header and Theme to change background image, site logo, colors, and fonts, etc.
  3. Click Save.

 

How to change the title, description, logo, and URL of a subsite:

  1. Click the Settings icon and select Site Information. [see screenshot]
  2. At the bottom of the Edit site information panel, click View all site settings. [see screenshot]
  3. Under Look and Feel, click Title, description, and logoTitle, description, and logo
  4. In the Title field, enter or edit the title of the site.
  5. In the Description field, enter or edit the description of the site.
  6. In the Insert logo field, enter the URL or click From computer to use an image you have saved.
  7. In the URL field, edit the URL of the site. Please see the important notes below on changing a site's URL.
  8. Click Ok.

Caution! Important notes on changing a site URL:

  • Changing the URL of a site will break any links pointing to it.
  • When changing a URL, make sure no one is making edits and all data is saved.
  • Communicate a URL change to the end users.
  • When the URL change is completed, close your browser and reopen to clear the browser's cache.
  • If the site is listed on the community sites landing page, please contact office365support@ku.edu to update the link.


Link to KU IT's YouTube  Powered by KU IT 

Training Workshops

KU faculty, staff and students can sign up for courses at no cost at workshops.ku.edu.

Share your feedback

Would you like to see added or updated content on this site? Let us know by completing this quick form.